Family and Immigration Law Attorney. Moonlighting as a queer, POC fiction lover and writer. Avid Bollywood fan.


Text

Aug 19, 2012
@ 10:02 am
Permalink

19 notes

August 24 Webinar & Call for Young LGBT Immigrants

Young LGBT Immigrants:  You may be eligible for immigration relief and work authorization!

On August 15, 2012, the Department of Homeland Security rolled out its new Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program which President Obama  announced in the Rose Garden two months ago.

Under DACA, eligible undocumented youth  under the age of 31 may be given a type of temporary permission to stay in the U.S. called “deferred action.” Deferred action will be valid for two years and may be renewed at the end of the two years.  Individuals who receive deferred action will receive employment authorization.

Join a webinar / call to find out if you are eligible to apply for deferred action and employment authorization!  Find out how to apply and resources available to assist you with your application!

Webinar / call information:

Date:  Friday, August 24 at 2 p.m. Eastern / 1 p.m. Central / Noon Mountain / 11 a.m. Pacific Time

Name of call:  Deferred Action for DREAMers

Webinar information:

  • Reserve your Webinar seat now at https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/737026030 After registering you will receive a confirmation emailing containing information about joining the Webinar.
  • If you do not have computer access, you can simply call in toll free to:  1-877-273-4202 Conference Room: 9495854

Hosted by: CenterLink: The Community of LGBT Centers; Chicago’s LGBTQ Immigrant Rights Coalition; Immigration Equality; Lambda Legal; National Center for Lesbian Rights; National Council of La Raza; National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce; National Gay and Lesbian Task Force; and National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance (NQAPIA).

Presented by: Laura Vazquez, Immigration Legislative Analyst, National Council of La Raza

Introduction by Rachel Tiven, Executive Director, Immigration Equality

Opening Remarks: Prerna Lal, “Undocuqueer”, Co-Founder, DreamActivist.org and Law Clerk, Benach Ragland LLP

For more information on DACA click here.

  1. panda-and-kat reblogged this from hellagay
  2. shawtygotskillz reblogged this from latinegrasexologist
  3. imfromdriftwood reblogged this from lati-negros
  4. caribbeansoup reblogged this from lati-negros
  5. adan1love reblogged this from latinosexuality
  6. sans-nuage reblogged this from lati-negros
  7. hellagay reblogged this from queerdesi
  8. casaesperanza reblogged this from queerdesi
  9. latinosexuality reblogged this from latinegrasexologist
  10. theedjcagedbird reblogged this from lati-negros
  11. mondesdesfemmes reblogged this from lati-negros
  12. lati-negros reblogged this from queerdesi
  13. hummussexual reblogged this from queerdesi
  14. latinegrasexologist reblogged this from queerdesi
  15. queerdesi posted this